When I view the experiences of motherhood as an adventure, with ups & downs, twists & turns, I am encouraged by the fact that even if I find myself in an upside-down, stomach-wrenching spiral at the moment, the ride comes to an end… right? At some point the ride I’m on will take a turn for the better, and I’ll be back on top having a laugh and enjoying the view once again. Or so I hope…

EliseFirstBirthdaywMom

For example, my current detour into the “terrible 2’s” with my youngest daughter Elise is so unpredictable and out of control, that it often takes my breath away. It’s hard to believe that someone so beautiful and so colorful can push me to the edge of sanity so easily! The precious baby whose smile melted my heart is now a strong-willed and independent tornado on two legs who stubbornly demands her way and can’t be convinced otherwise.

Thankfully for both of us, the knowledge that “this too, shall pass” fills me with peace as I hug her tightly at the end of the day and kiss her sweet cheeks goodnight. No matter how much she pushes me, I can’t help but love her with all I have left to give.

This adventure of motherhood is a vivid example of God’s unconditional love for us all. Even in my most challenging Mama moments, there’s not an ounce of love lost for anything my girls have done — no matter how terrible it seems at the time. Despite the daily battles, when it’s all said and done I want nothing more than to hold them close and impress upon them how much I really love them.

Even as adults, we still act like tumultuous toddlers in our spiritual life, pushing God away with our independence and determination to do everything our way. Yet He loves us despite our worst day.

“Greater love has no one than this, that one lay down his life for his friends.” ( John 15:13) He gave the ultimate sacrifice to prove His love for us even though we didn’t deserve it. Before we could appreciate or understand it, He had already laid down His life so we can experience His unconditional love when we are finally ready to receive it.

As a Mama who feels incredibly blessed to have a new picture and perspective on God’s limitless love, I cherish Him now more than ever.

“Greater love has no one than this, that one lay down his life for his friends.”
— John 15:13

